Hem » Uncategorized » Review: Spirou – Porträtt av hjälten som oskuldsfull ung man

Review: Spirou – Porträtt av hjälten som oskuldsfull ung man


Spirou - Porträtt av hjälten som oskuldsfull ung man
Spirou – Porträtt av hjälten som oskuldsfull ung man by Émile Bravo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I used to read a lot of Spirou in my childhood, 30 years ago. Back then, I felt it was like a spin on Tintin, but with its own gallery and style. For quite a few years now, I have found my way back to comics, reading both classics and newer ones to eas my brain from the often heavy technical stuff I read.

The other day, I decided to pick up this adventure and a classical collection of Spirou by Franquin to see if I still would like them – and this led to a pleasant surprise. But I do believe this book also could be read by anyone that does not wear the nostalgic childhood glasses.

The art is fantastic, and I will for sure see if there is anything else done by Emile Bravo I can pick up in Swedish. The tone is both serious and comical – and I even felt a bit sad in the end – not what I had expected from a Spirou adventure. It also explained some things in the Spirou series, and gave me a new interesting view of the sidekick Spip. It also made me thirsty to open up a Chimay, dream of Brussels and jump into the next Spirou adventure, albeit something more matinee like. Oh, I will reread in the future.

For a longer review in Swedish, https://web.archive.org/web/201707042…

View all my reviews

Kommentera

